The IPL 2022 auctions will see many players go during the auction, BCCI has allowed each franchise to keep a maximum of four players.

One can blindly expect veteran names like MS Dhoni, Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli to be retained by their respective franchises.

Rashid Khan wants to be retained as SRH’s No. 1 player

There have been media reports mentioning franchises retaining their key players.

According to a report from Cricbuzz, the Rajasthan Royals have yet to decide on the future of their skipper Sanju Samson with the franchise, while the Afghan leg-spinner Rashid Khan wants to become their No. 1 player in Sunrisers Hyderabad.

Rashid Khan and Kane Williamson. Credits: Twitter

But the franchise may consider skipper Kane Williamson giving this position as the price difference between the two positions is Rs 4 crore.

KL Rahul must be contacted by the Lucknow franchise

Earlier reports had suggested that Punjab Kings skipper KL Rahul would part with the franchise and it is believed he could be targeted by the Lucknow clothing for IPL 2022.

According to the report, Shreya Iyer would prefer to be in the auction pool rather than be retained, while Shikhar Dhawan is one of the players heavily pursued by the two new teams. Pandya brother will be contacted by the Ahmedabad franchise if they are not chosen by Mumbai Indians.

According to a report by Indian Express, the four-time IPL champions CSK have retained MS Dhoni along with all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja and the young opener Ruturaj Gaikwad.

MS Dhoni and Ruturaj Gaikwad
MS Dhoni and Ruturaj Gaikwad. (Photo source: Twitter)

The Chennai kit is also in talks with English all-rounder Moeen Ali as their fourth retention player.

The Delhi Capitals, who finished at the top of the IPL 2021 points table, have decided to keep Rishabh Pant, who led them last season.

In addition to Pant, Delhi Capitals has also retained all-rounder Axar Patel, opener Prithvi Shaw and South African pacer Anrich Nortje.

The Kolkata Knight Riders are likely to retain their senior players Sunil Narine and Andre Russell and will choose between Venkatesh Iyer and Shubman Gill.

Five-time IPL champions, Mumbai Indians, have retained skipper Rohit Sharma and tempo bowler Jasprit Bumrah. The franchise is also chasing their star all-rounder Kieron Pollard and Ishan Kishan.

also read: IPL 2022 auction: 3 teams that can be targeted at KL Rahul

Source link