David Warner’s infamous downfall with Sunrisers Hyderabad has almost marked his affiliation with the IPL franchise. But that has not deterred fans from hoping that the two parties might one day reunite. Warner joined SRH back in 2014 and served the team for eight long years, but things went awry between the two when SRH stripped Warner of his leadership and later dropped him from Playing XI.

Although there has been no official word from the franchise about releasing Warner, a post on social media shortly after the end of the IPL suggested that the dough has separated from the franchise. Ahead of the IPL 2022 mega-auction, as the teams prepare to complete the list of detained players, there is some speculation that there may be just a glimmer of hope to see Warner and SRH reunite.

Also read | India vs New Zealand livescore, 1st Test, Day 2

As for Warner, however, he has nothing to do with SRH. On an SRH fan page on Instagram called ‘WeAreOrangeArmy’, when a fan mentioned the prospect of Tom Moody as coach and Warner as captain, to which Warner responded quickly: “No thanks.”

David Warner’s response suggests that he no longer has anything to do with Sunriser’s Hyderabad. (Instagram)

SRH endured a forgettable campaign in IPL 2021, and ended with the wooden spoon. In the first half, after losing five games out of seven, Warner was removed as captain of the team and replaced by Kane Williamson. However, the shift change could not help much in reversing the franchise’s fortunes as the team slipped to the bottom of the table.

Also read | IND vs NZ: Shreyas Iyer hits 100s on test debut, joins Ganguly, Sehwag and Rohit on elite list of Indian batteries

Warner was subsequently dropped, but returned to the first two games of the second phase. However, after a score of 0 and 2, Warner never returned to Playing XI and even stayed at the hotel for a few games.

Warner is the only player to have won the IPL Orange Cap three times, and with SRH on all occasions. He even led SRH to an IPL title in 2016 and holds the record for second most runs in a single edition of the IPL (848 in 2017) after Virat Kohlis 873 races in 2016.


Source link